Anne of Green Gables (Collector's Library)

Author(s): L. M. Montgomery; Anna South (Introduction by)


Introducing a bold, bright new take on your favorite books. A collection that celebrates color and literature at once! It's hard to imagine little red-headed Anne Shirley without picturing the sprawling green pastures of Prince Edward Island . . . Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert are in for a big surprise. They're waiting for an orphan boy to help with the work at Green Gables - but a skinny, red-haired girl turns up instead. Feisty and full of spirit, it's not long before Anne Shirley finds herself in all kinds of trouble. But soon it's impossible to imagine life at Green Gables without her.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Lucy Maud Montgomery's classic work of children's fiction

Lucy Maud Montgomery was born on Prince Edward Island, Canada, in 1874 and raised by her maternal grandparents following her mother's death. Biographical accounts of her upbringing suggest a strict and rather lonely childhood. She later spent a number of years working as a teacher before turning to journalism and then, ultimately, to writing fiction. Anne of Green Gables, published in 1908, was her first novel and has remained in print the world over ever since. Montgomery died in Toronto in 1942.

* Chapter - 1: Mrs Rachel Lynde is Surprised* Chapter - 2: Matthew Cuthbert is Surprised* Chapter - 3: Marilla Cuthbert is Surprised* Chapter - 4: Morning at Green Gables* Chapter - 5: Anne's History* Chapter - 6: Marilla Makes up Her Mind* Chapter - 7: Anne says Her Prayers* Chapter - 8: Anne's Bringing-up is Begun* Chapter - 9: Mrs Rachel Lynde is Properly Horrified* Chapter - 10: Anne's Apology* Chapter - 11: Anne's Impressions of Sunday School* Chapter - 12: A Solemn Vow and Promise* Chapter - 13: The Delights of Anticipation* Chapter - 14: Anne's Confession* Chapter - 15: A Tempest in the School Teapot* Chapter - 16: Diana is Invited to Tea, with Tragic Results* Chapter - 17: A New Interest in Life* Chapter - 18: Anne to the Rescue* Chapter - 19: A Concert, a Catastrophe and a Confession* Chapter - 20: A Good Imagination Gone Wrong* Chapter - 21: A New Departure in Flavourings* Chapter - 22: Anne is Invited out to Tea* Chapter - 23: Anne Comes to Grief in an Affair of Honour* Chapter - 24: Miss Stacy and Her Pupils get up a Concert* Chapter - 25: Matthew Insists on Puffed Sleeves* Chapter - 26: The Story Club is Formed* Chapter - 27: Vanity and Vexation of Spirit* Chapter - 28: An Unfortunate Lily Maid* Chapter - 29: An Epoch in Anne's Life* Chapter - 30: The Queen's Class is Organised* Chapter - 31: Where the Brook and River Meet* Chapter - 32: The Pass List is Out* Chapter - 33: The Hotel Concert* Chapter - 34: A Queen's Girl* Chapter - 35: The Winter at Queen's* Chapter - 36: The Glory and the Dream* Chapter - 37: The Reaper whose Name is Death* Chapter - 38: The Bend in the Road** Section - i: AFTERWORD* Section - ii: BIOGRAPHY

General Fields

  • : 9781509828012
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Collector's Library, The
  • : April 2017
  • : 156mm X 100mm X 22mm
  • : May 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 392
  • : L. M. Montgomery; Anna South (Introduction by)
  • : Hardback
  • : New Edition
  • : English
  • : General Adult