Product detail

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Author: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Series: Macmillan Collector's Library
$14.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: -1

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is perhaps the greatest collection of detective stories ever written. From his residence at 221B Baker Street, Sherlock Holmes solves a series of baffling and bizarre cases, including those of a man terrified by the arrival of an envelope containing orange pips, and a woman whose fiance disappeared on his way to their wedding. Each story showcases the great detective's inimitable and extraordinary deductive powers, recounted to us by his faithful friend and colleague, Dr Watson. This Macmillan Collector's Library edition features an afterword by David Stuart Davies - a Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund and an authority on Sherlock Holmes. Designed to appeal to the booklover, the Macmillan Collector's Library is a series of beautiful gift editions of much loved classic titles. Macmillan Collector's Library are books to love and treasure.

Promotion info

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's great detective showcases his powers in this first collection of stories

Author description

Arthur Conan Doyle was born in 1859. He trained to be a doctor at Edinburgh University and eventually set up a medical practice in Southsea. During the quiet periods between patients, he turned his hand to writing, producing historical novels such as Micah Clarke and adventure yarns including The Lost World, as well as four novels and fifty-six stories involving his most celebrated creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson. Doyle was knighted in 1902. In later life he devoted much of his time to his belief in Spiritualism, using his writing and celebrity as a means of providing funds to support activities in this field. He died in 1930.

Table of contents

Chapter - 1: A Scandal in BohemiaChapter - 2: The Red-Headed LeagueChapter - 3: A Case of IdentityChapter - 4: The Boscombe Valley MysteryChapter - 5: The Five Orange PipsChapter - 6: The Man with the Twisted LipChapter - 7: The Blue CarbuncleChapter - 8: The Speckled BandChapter - 9: The Engineer's ThumbChapter - 10: The Noble BachelorChapter - 11: The Beryl CoronetChapter - 12: The Copper BeechesSection - i: AfterwordSection - ii: Further ReadingSection - iii: Biography

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781909621732
  • : Macmillan Collector's Library
  • : Macmillan Collector's Library
  • : July 2016
  • : 150mm X 93mm
  • : July 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • : Hardback
  • : New Edition
  • : English
  • : 376