Lady Susan, Sanditon and the Watsons

Author(s): Jane Austen


This volume presents three of Jane Austen's smaller works, treating readers to the author's timeless observations on life and love in nineteenth-century England. In Lady Susan, a beautiful and flirtatious widow seeks an advantageous second marriage for herself while attempting to push her daughter into a dismal match. Through a series of crafty maneuvers, Susan pursues her schemes by filling her calendar with invitations for extended visits with unsuspecting relatives and acquaintances. Characters are revealed and suspense builds as the plot unfolds through a series of letters.
The beloved author also left behind two tantalizing unfinished novels. The Watsons takes place in a familiar domestic milieu, in which a spirited heroine finds her marriage opportunities narrowed by poverty and pride. Sanditon ventures into new territory amid hypochondriacs and speculators at a seaside resort. More than literary curiosities, these stories are worthy of reading for pleasure as well as for study.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780486841717
  • : Dover Publications, Incorporated
  • : Dover Publications, Incorporated
  • : April 2020
  • : ---length:- '8'width:- '5'units:- Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jane Austen
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 160