The Sixth Cadfael Omnibus: The Heretic's Apprentice, the Potter's Field, the Summer of the Danes

Author(s): Peter Ellis

Crime Fiction

THE HERETIC'S APPRENTICE: In the summer of 1143 two visitors arrive at the Abbey of Saint Peter and Saint Paul- one dead and two very much alive. But when a violent death ensues, Brother Cafael is called once more to turn detective and solve the murder- but matters are complicated still further by the marvellous treasure box in Elave's care...
THE POTTER'S FIELD: During the ploughing of the Potters Field in October 1143 the grisly remains of a woman's body are unearthed. Abandoned by her husband, the tenant potter, rumour had it that the woman had returned to her homeland- perhaps with a lover. But the discovery of the corpse on Abbey land raises all sorts of questions.
THE SUMMER OF THE DANES: In April 1144 Brother Cadfael leaves his monastery once more representing the bishop on a matter of church diplomacy. Cadfael does not forsee trouble on this errand, but then becomes entangled in the affairs of Heledd, a young woman desperate to escape an arranged marriage, and in conflict between Owain Gwynedd and his treacherous brother Cadwaladr...


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The sixth omnibus edition of Ellis Peters' compulsive and bestselling medieval whodunnits, now a major ITV series starring Derek Jacobi.

Ellis Peters is one of the pseudonyms of Edith Pargeter who wrote several books under her own name and also Peter Benedict, Jolyon Carr and John Redfern. She was the recipient of the Crime Writers Association and the Cartier Diamond Dagger Award. She died in 1995.

General Fields

  • : 9780751515893
  • : Little, Brown Book Group Limited
  • : Sphere
  • : January 1996
  • : 233mm X 152mm X 45mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 600
  • : maps
  • : Peter Ellis
  • : Paperback